Skip to content

Day 1 of 45: Following The Script

January 23, 2012

Day 1 of 45 is now in the books. The best part of the day was just being here and being part of the process. I was surprised, however, to find out that everything had been scripted.

Quite honestly, today was very easy. Too easy, truth be told. Most of it was pomp and circumstances, with virtually no business conducted. Nothing of substance really happened. All of my committee meetings were cancelled. I was underwhelmed. I’m quite confident, however, that will change.

For the afternoon session, we heard from Chief Justice Christine Durham. At the end of her remarks, she announced that she was stepping down as chief justice after 10 years. Matthew Durrant will take over on April 1, 2012.

I did get to meet my intern, Katie, and my page, Jewel. (I share both of them with other senators.) I also had my first meeting in my very nice office with Kirk Torgensen and Wade Farraway from the Utah Attorney General’s office. The U.S. Supreme Court ruled 9-0 this morning that law enforcement is required to obtain a search warrant before attaching a GPS device to a person’s vehicle. I will be running a bill to implement that change on the state level, so officers checking the Utah Code will find the proper guidance. Another first was someone sending in a note inviting me to step out of the chamber to talk with them in the hallway (which I was pleased to do).

To salvage the day, I responded to every email and read through all of my snail mail. I also met with several fiscal analysts and staffers from Leg Research to discuss the bills I am running.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

