Skip to content

Day 44: Second to Last

March 7, 2012

Today, the Senate pretty much started on time. Unfortunately, I was stuck in traffic (and behind a train) at that time. Fortunately, I did not miss any votes because we are flying through bills this morning.

We took a break just after 10:00 a.m. to caucus regarding spending priorities. My number one priority was to fund my bill to give veterans credit for the truck driving training they received in the military. It’s only $18,000 of a $13 Billion budget. My bill doesn’t actually involve any government spending, but the fiscal analyst have projected some lost revenue to the state.

In the afternoon, the House voted to unanimously approve my NDAA resolution. Here I am with Rep. Dan McCay, the House sponsor, celebrating the unanimous vote.

20120307-182102.jpg

Before doing so, however, they reinstated all of the language that had been stripped out in the Senate. It will be interesting to see what happens tomorrow when it makes it back to the Senate.

I also spoke out against HB 44 (without the second substitute) and HB 298, but they both passed despite my opposition. I really hate to lose!

One Comment
  1. Jason permalink

    Yeah, why did they pass 298?

Leave a Reply

