Skip to content

Ethics Reform

March 13, 2012

I have been asked if I would be willing to take the lead in ethics reform in the Utah Legislature. The answer is yes. I think there is a lot of room for improvement, including a waiting period before a former legislator can turn around and become a lobbyist. I would also like to study the concern that some have about taxpayer dollars being used by cities, etc. for lobbying efforts.

To be successful, however, it needs to be done in a collaborative effort. I watched a relatively new member of the Legislature come in with some landscape-shifting ideas this session. He worked hard, drafted his bills and then ran into a brick wall. He got nowhere. I don’t want to repeat those mistakes. On the other hand, another new legislator worked hard for eight months on a consensus bill to bring some major reform to public education. He was successful. I didn’t feel like I could successfully tackle meaningful ethics reform with a ten-day head start into the session. If I am fortunate enough to be re-elected though, it will be one of my top priorities!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

